Small Wars Journal

El Centro

SWJ El Centro, or "downtown" in Spanish, is our town square for analysis and discussion of Latin America's guerilla wars and criminal insurgencies.  More about El Centro here.

Recent El Centro Journal Articles and SWJ Blog Posts:

by Robert Bunker, by Marisa Mendoza | Thu, 03/23/2017 - 7:32pm | 0 comments
by Robert Bunker, by Marisa Mendoza | Thu, 03/16/2017 - 9:57pm | 0 comments
by Robert Bunker, by Marisa Mendoza | Thu, 03/09/2017 - 5:43pm | 0 comments
by Magdalena Defort | Mon, 03/06/2017 - 9:14am | 0 comments
by Mark Lavin II | Fri, 02/10/2017 - 6:01am | 0 comments
by Bloomberg News | Thu, 02/09/2017 - 10:48am | 0 comments

“The ‘tortoise-like’ Colombian army is losing its grip on a key cocaine zone and the cartels are offering former FARC rebels $600 per month to enlist.”

by Paul Rexton Kan | Mon, 12/05/2016 - 9:49am | 0 comments
by The Wall Street Journal | Thu, 10/20/2016 - 9:22am | 0 comments

“All Colombians want peace. Any future deal with FARC, however, must address citizens’ concerns.”

by John P. Sullivan, by Robert Bunker | Tue, 10/18/2016 - 7:56am | 0 comments

This work is our fifth Small Wars Journal--El Centro anthology, covering writings first published in 2015.

by Douglas Farah | Fri, 10/07/2016 - 4:10pm | 0 comments
by Robert Bunker | Fri, 10/07/2016 - 8:15am | 0 comments

"Who is this alluring, conflicted and mysterious woman? If you have been paying attention to the news you might know her by her most common name – la Santa Muerte, Saint Death."

by John P. Sullivan, by Robert Bunker | Sat, 09/10/2016 - 10:37am | 0 comments